Sports News Today

The Final Shortlist For The Best FIFA Awards 2021

The Ultimate Shortlist For Best FIFA Awards 2021 Out

Fédération Internationale de Football Association in other words FIFA have announced the finalists for The Best FIFA Player Awards in both male and female categories, with the respective honours due to be handed out on January 17.

This award was created by FIFA to try to wrestle recognition away from the Ballon d’Or award handed out by France Soccer journal, and has been operating since 2016.

The names for the three finalists of The Best FIFA Men’s Player are as follows:

1. Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)
2. Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona & Paris Saint-Germain)
3. Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)

In the 2021 Ballon d’Or, the Argentine and Pole finished first and second, respectively, with Salah coming in seventh.

Captains and coaches from every FIFA-affiliated national team will vote for The Best winners, with each having three players to choose from and points awarded based on their ranking in the votes.

So first will be given five points, three points to second on the list and one to third place. The only condition of voting is that you cannot vote for a player from the same national team.

Close to the Female award, the three finalists for The Best FIFA Women’s Player Participant have been named as follows:

1. Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/Barcelona)
2. Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
3. Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Click to Chat!